City Government


The City of Demopolis operates under a Mayor-Council form of government. The City's elected officials consist of a Mayor and five City Council members.


The Mayor, who is elected by popular vote to serve a four-year term, serves as the Executive Officer of the City.  As the administrative head of the City of Demopolis, the Mayor is responsible for the general management of the City. The Mayor appoints department heads and advisory board members, with Council approval, and signs all motions, resolutions and ordinances passed by the City Council.

 The City Council is the governing body of the City and has all legislative and policy-making powers. The City Council acts only by ordinance, resolution or motion. They adopt the annual budget and confirm appointments made by the Mayor.


The City Clerk is appointed by the City Council. The City Clerk authenticates and records all official acts of the City.  The City Clerk is present at all City Council meetings and is responsible for preparing the agenda and recording the minutes of each meeting.


There are also various Boards and Committees that work with the City Government. These boards and committees are comprised of City of Demopolis citizens who are appointed by the Mayor and the City Council.